PDA

View Full Version : Bangs self trim

Natalia
March 19th, 2015, 05:09 AM
I'm in a bit of a time crunch and my hairdresser can't fit me in. Does anyone have a video or photo tutorial for trimming side swept bands they really like? I've never done my own before but family is visiting I haven't seen in 6 years and I want to look nice. I'm about 3 weeks past due for a trim so it's hard to follow the original cut line

veryhairyfairy
March 19th, 2015, 06:41 AM
I've used this method with much better success than any other:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_RPfWikx-8E

I used to just cut at an angle with all of the bangs combed forward, but this one has a result that looks much more professional IMO. Definitely cut a tiny bit at a time and let it fully dry in between!!! Cutting side swept bangs wet is how I ended up with regular bangs because I went too short!
Hope this helps! :)

ETA: I go farther out toward my ear with the hair to cut (more sideways across my face than down, if that makes sense), because I like a more pronounced angle. And thinning shears are not necessary.

tigress86
March 19th, 2015, 07:48 AM
I like videos from this hairdresser:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CSTWzEsYRs

Natalia
March 19th, 2015, 05:13 PM
Thank you both! I will check them out, once i wash its trim time :)

Remi
March 19th, 2015, 05:17 PM
Yes, I like the vid that tigress86 posted! Hope it helps.

Natalia
March 22nd, 2015, 04:35 AM