PDA

View Full Version : How do you pull back your hair?

oOoAMANDAoOo
March 9th, 2015, 09:22 AM
During the day, I typically just pull my hair back (not tightly) with a non-metal elastic. What ways have you found to pull back your hair quickly and easily while avoiding damage and excess strain on the hair?

I also use those thick fabric-wrapped 80's style scrunchies. I don't feel that they put much strain on my hair, but they just slide out of my fine locks all of the time and I find myself constantly having to pull it back up.

Nique1202
March 9th, 2015, 09:28 AM
When I realized how much damage the non-metal elastics were doing to my hair, I started practicing buns. The disc bun and cinnabun both take me less than a minute and only require a stick or pen to fasten securely. Nautilus and lazy wrap buns are apparently even faster for people whose hair is thin enough to do them.

kganihanova
March 9th, 2015, 09:49 AM
ponytail with elastic/crappy bun with elastic/attempted braid that slides off/half up. My hair slides out of things a lot.

yogagirl
March 9th, 2015, 09:55 AM
I do buns now mostly, though I feel like they do put a lot of strain on the same area each time (where a ponytail holder would sit). Just because I have to twist fairly tightly and that's where the fork/sticks get pushed through every time.

I've been in love with Scünci "no-slip grip" claw clips for years now. I don't think they cause damage for me. I always have one on me. Either for quick half ups when I need my hair out of my face when eating, or for a quick peacock twist when I need my hair off my neck when I get too hot. They even work for a low ponytail.

Chromis
March 9th, 2015, 10:01 AM
I stopped wearing ponytails completely. They gave me breakage and my hair still got tangled and caught on stuff.

I wear various buns and updos using hair sticks, forks, and Ficcares. There are lots of very fast and simple styles.

neko_kawaii
March 9th, 2015, 10:07 AM