PDA

View Full Version : Should I go back to my natural hair color?

endlessly
February 24th, 2015, 09:32 AM
I'm going to start by saying that at least in my opinion, I take really good care of my hair - I limit my washings, always use deep conditioners and leave-in conditioners, cut out silicones and harsh sulfates, and I never use heat to style my hair. That being said, I still dye it. I know, I know, that's pretty bad, but I honestly can't help myself.

From what I remember about my "natural" hair color, it was a light, golden brown, and I've been coloring it some shade of red/reddish brown for the past 10 years. Lately however, my roots are just getting out of hand. It's so much upkeep now that my hair is as long as it is, so I don't want to keep coloring the entire length, just touching up the roots, but that's almost as expensive (not to mention, still not a time-saver). I have about 2 inches of regrowth right now and the color is definitely not what I remember it being. I know in contrast with the red, I'm probably not getting a true idea of the shade, but it honestly looks like more of a grey-brown, or as I've been corrected in my house "ash brown".

I've always thought of myself as more of a redhead, it compliments my skin tone so much better and I personally think the color is beyond gorgeous...but the upkeep! I don't want to keep coloring my roots every 4 weeks...and that's exactly what I have to keep doing.

I'm worried that coloring my length to match my roots, this so-called "ash brown", will make me look older and that's not something I'm ready for. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Arctic
February 24th, 2015, 09:45 AM
You are right, the roots will always look drab against the vibrant coloured hairs. You will only know how your real, current colour is by letting it grow out.