PDA

View Full Version : Caring for wet fragile hair

purplehaze
September 30th, 2008, 03:09 PM
Ok, I know how fragile hair is when wet, but not sure about the best way to style/let hair dry once washed. I have noticed alot of breakage around the top part of my hair where is usually twisted into a bun or secured with a clip. My routine is usually wash/condition hair, detangle with wide tooth comb, then twist into a bun/clip then off to work (i'm a nurse so my hair has to been worn off the colar). Not sure what else to do. Thought about put hair into a braid after washing but then worried about damage due to rubbing on coat/bag etc

I have started to wear hair sticks but have noticed that when wet, my hair breaks when putting them in, even gently. I know that what ever you do there will be some breakage involved, just seems I can't even touch my hair without one snapping! Hate that sound! I guess It could be down to 3 years of stress/underactive thyroid and continuous black hair dye, which has now stopped! My hair it soft, shinny, just very weak i think, so just trying to find the perfect routine!:D

burns_erin
September 30th, 2008, 03:15 PM
I usually do a looped ponytail when it is wet. When my hair was longer I would also put it into a hair sock (made myself) out of a a silky material (either ponied or braided), you might ask if your hair has to be up if it is contained. As for helping to strengthen it, i say nothing works better than henna, but red may not be something you want to do. I would suggest washing it at night so it is dry by morning. Another thing to look at is you might need more protein for your hair, but I am not an expert in that.

chrissy-b
September 30th, 2008, 03:30 PM
My hair used to break off when I was dying, blow drying and using cones. I cut off all the damage, added more moisturizing conditioners (sans cones), limited protein treatments, stopped blow drying and dying, started using cassia and oils on the length.