PDA

View Full Version : Hair Help!

Madeleine13
February 15th, 2015, 07:22 AM
Hi, my name is Madeleine and I joined this site because I was after some hair advice. I have been growing my hair for about two years now. My goal when I first started growing my hair was to get it down to my waist, and it still kind of is but I just don’t think it’s growing anymore. When I started growing my hair it was about neck length with layers and it is now about armpit length with hardly any layers. Surely it wouldn’t take two whole years to get to only armpit length. I know hair only grows half an inch a month but I still recon that it should be longer by now. I have never died my hair. The colour of it is natural and I don’t straighten it. I use a hairdryer sometimes when I come out the shower in the winter but that is about as much heat as it gets. I do go swimming now and again but not every day. Probably no more than three times a month, if that! I wash my hair about twice a week using shampoo and conditioner. I have been using a shampoo and conditioner recently called ‘Mane and Tail’ as I read it was good for healthy hair and hair growth but I can’t see much improvement. Most of the time I have it down but I occasionally tie it up. When I do though I never tie it too high or too tight. When I brush my hair I usually ither use a light weight brush or a comb and when I brush it I make sure I do it gently. I tried coconut oil on my hair once but it made my scalp burn and it also made it really itchy so I washed it off and never used it again. I have looked back at old family photos because I read that genetics play a huge part in hair length but it’s so hard to tell as most of the people in the photos have their hair tied up in some way. I saw a picture whilst looking through albums of my mum and she told me that in the photo she was about fourteen years old (I am twenty one) and in the photo she had long brown natural hair just past waist length. Seeing that photo gave me hope