PDA

View Full Version : How long until your hair goal? How long have you been growing?

looniac
February 5th, 2015, 07:42 PM
Hello All!

I don't think there is a thread out there like this yet, but if there is, I'm sorry! Mods can catch me.

This evening as I was finger combing my braid out before a shower, I was looking at my length in the mirror and thought to myself, damn, it'll probably be another 3 or 4 years before I reach my goal length. (My current goal is a hip-length braid... I currently have a braid that is just below BSL).

I have been growing out my hair from a pixie for about five years? Six? I can't remember when that chop happened, but if I'm looking at getting six inches a year, I think I'm looking at another 3 years.

So, in my pre-shower mind, I thought it might be fun to know how long other people have been growing and how much longer think they have to go, and to support one another through these times :)

Hopeful65
February 5th, 2015, 08:02 PM
I had between APL and BSL for years. But it was bleached, dyed, and damaged. It never really grew.

I started growing out the bleach & dye in September of '11, starting from the roots, and as of today I have decided I am at solid waist length with all new virgin hair. That's a total of 3 years and 4 months. That's with trims of 1/4" to 1/2" each month, with maybe a few months skipped on occasion. (I'd say 1/4" per month average.)

Waist length has been my goal all along, but I'm still going to let it grow with still doing my trims.
I think close to hip and I'll call it good. :)

But ya, to reach my goal, roots to tips, took 3 years and 4 months.

Five of Five
February 5th, 2015, 08:26 PM
My goal from the start was classic with blunt ends :D I have been growing for about five years from a super-short bob in early 2010, and am currently sitting at BCL with fairly blunt ends thanks to a lot of trims.