PDA

View Full Version : Help with split ends, protein overload???

hidetheice
January 31st, 2015, 01:22 AM
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting to this site but I've been reading off and on for years.

I've been struggling with my hair for a long time and the harder i tried to fix it the worse it got. Well, I think I've finally figured out the source- protein overload.
I've had a keratin treatment on my hair 3x in about a years span. The first time I had one I loved it. Then the next two didn't work as well. In addition to that I've been using keratin infused shampoos, conditions, deep treatments, and various other products with protein. Obviously I've cut out all protein containing products. I've done two SMTs the past week using garnier triple nutrition condition and have seen a HUGE improvement. My hair was soft for the first time in...a long long time.

My main question is regarding my split ends. I trim them ALL THE TIME using high quailty hair scissors. And they come back THE VERY NEXT DAY. I don't know what to do =( I can hear my hair breaking just when i run my fingers through it. Just tons and tons of little split ends. Any advice? I'm starting CWC and going to do SMT 2/week. I rarely use heat on my hair, am very careful with it. I'm just so sick of having dry hair with split ends.

I think my hair is 2a/c/ii.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Hotrox
January 31st, 2015, 02:25 AM
Sorry to hear you're struggling with your hair, it does sound like protein overload as well as chemical damage.

Your best bet is to continue with moisturizing treatments, very gentle detangling (tangle teezer or wide tooth comb in the shower with conditioner on), protective up do's and a silk pillowcase along with a regular trimming schedule.

Conditioners with cones will also give your hair some slip and protection, I really like Herbal Essences Hello Hydration. Gives great moisture, I use it as a leave in too.

Good luck with your hair

Hotrox