PDA

View Full Version : How long do you usually go without cutting your hair, and how do you treat your hair?

Fresco
January 23rd, 2015, 01:20 PM
Hi, newbie here :o

I'd like to know how long you regularly go without cutting your hair on average, and how long it takes you to get split ends/ breakage?

Also, just to know if there actually is a correlation, how do you treat your hair (what do you put in it, do you use heat tools)?

Panth
January 23rd, 2015, 01:36 PM
I S&D occasionally (i.e. if I get bored). I've trimmed twice in the past 4-ish years. I don't have any plans to trim any time soon. I do have splits, but they are fairly uncommon, fairly minor (i.e. usually only about 1mm of actual split, so unlikely to tangle on other hairs) and, IMO, to be expected for my hair as it's knee length and fine.

I have virgin hair, use (light, water-soluble) 'cones and lots of protein and wear my hair in updos every day. For me, the key part is the updos.

maggiealisa
January 23rd, 2015, 01:46 PM
Hi! I'm new, too.

I used to be obsessed with getting my hair cut. Last time I tried to grow out from pixie, I was cutting it every 2-3 weeks, but sometimes once every week. And I wondered why I never had progress! I just recently cut my hair to pixie again in order to get rid of dye. When I have virgin hair, I rarely feel the need to cut my hair, maybe 1-2 times a year because my ends are in SO much better condition.

Since I began using natural products, essential oils, and coconut oil and castor oil, I really don't get split ends. I no longer use any heat on my hair either. I am a daily washer, but I do a heavy oiling every night. My hair is in the best condition it has ever been in.

Madora
January 23rd, 2015, 01:52 PM

I'd like to know how long you regularly go without cutting your hair on average, and how long it takes you to get split ends/ breakage?