PDA

View Full Version : haircut from hell

Brightfeather
January 12th, 2015, 11:17 AM
I've been growing out my hair for around 5 years now, and finally bit the bullet on friday and broke the perming cycle. My natural hair is baby fine and pin straight, so it just kind of lays there when it gets long. I started perming it when I hit BSL so that it would have a little volume, and the curls were a lot of fun, but as it grew longer, the damage was adding up, and I was wearing my hair in protective styles more and more, so continuing to perm didn't make any sense. Rather than wait another 5 years to grow out all that permed hair, with such a huge difference in the two textures, I decided to do one last perm to take my non-virgin hair back to the same general straightness as my roots. I knew that this would include some significant damage to the ends (the process is harder on your hair than perming on rollers, since you spend 30 min combing the solution through your length while it is super vulnerable), and that I would still need to chop off a chunk when we were done with the perm process. When I walked into the salon, my hair was about 3" below my waist, and all one length. I had a discussion with my usual hair stylist, with pictures, regarding what I wanted to do with the cut, assuming that I'd be chopping off something in the area of 5-6 inches. THAT part of the haircut was right on target. The problem is LAYERS (cue doom music). I was very specific about what I wanted. Brought in a pic of a waistlength cut with a rounded hemline, and light layers that were, at their shortest, about 4-5" shorter than the hem. To that I added: "I'd like the layers to be longer than this, just enough to give the hemline some movement." I was very clear about the desire to get rid of damaged ends while preserving as much length as possible, and my view that the first actually serves the second goal. I THOUGHT we were on the same page.