PDA

View Full Version : Help! Blow Drying Dry Hair

Fantak
January 10th, 2015, 05:20 AM
Hello everyone :)

I am at a new job and need to blow dry my hair to get a 'finished' look at least once a week.

I want to avoid damaging my fine fragile hair. I know blow drying it on high heat is damaging so plan to blow dry it when my hair is dry and to keep the heat as low and as far as possible.

Will I need a heat protector? What is the best/least damaging brush to use?

Do you have any tips and tricks? I'm a total newb at this blow out business -.-

I have tryed steam curlers but they don't give the shiny finished look I need :(

thank you :))

lapushka
January 10th, 2015, 07:27 AM
I'm TBL+ and my hair gets diffused on warm every week, for 5 min. tops. It gets my roots dry and the rest of my hair pretty dry (this is after my hair was in a turbie for 15-20 min., and after about an hour, an hour and a half of air drying). I have no splits, nor white dots. So it's not all that harmful, provided you keep a few things in mind.

If you keep the temperature such that when you hold your hair in the airstream for a long time without it burning - it should be fine. Just drying it without roundbrushing it, that is.

Fantak
January 10th, 2015, 10:38 AM
Thank you lapushka!

Any suggestions for which brush I should use? I'm sorry I've never done this and the big bristle round brushes scare me :/

Upside Down
January 10th, 2015, 12:24 PM
Have you seen the method called saran wrap?
If you have straight-ish hair, I'd guess you can skip the roller part (lucky....)

Roller Set & Saran Wrap | Straight Hair Method:
http://http://youtu.be/SsS7nwiORKc

This used to be pretty popular on the interwebs a few years ago, and the results on many youtube tutorials were impressive, flat ironed like hair.

I've been meaning to try it for ever, to be honest :) it will probably take some practice with TBL hair..

FallingDarkness
January 10th, 2015, 12:38 PM