PDA

View Full Version : To trim, or not to trim?

DreamSheep
December 27th, 2014, 11:05 AM
Hi!
I feel so silly posting a thread like this :p
I haven't had a trim for about a year and a half and my ends have fairytailed like crazy. On one hand I'm pleased because it's grown a lot and the end of hem reaches my tailbone, and I quite like my hair looking "natural" and not freshly trimmed. On the other, I feel my hair looks a bit more unkempt and not quite as nice down (not that I wear it down too often, but when I do I want it to look nice and not straggly). So I was giving thought to the idea of giving my ends a trim, so just wondering what you guys would do?
The photos depict my hair after 7 days of not washing, and probably washing soon (so the worst it would look, but not necessarily unusual!). The ends are thin, but surprisingly not split (yet!).

a) Nothing, just keep growing and S&D
b) Microtrim (only that I prefer to do scissorwork often because I've never done it before...) - monthly? quarterly? as needed?
c) Cut off XX inches from the end?
d) Cut all the way back to hip-BCL abyss, where my two bottom layers will be one? (the equivalent of cutting to the top of the white stripe in the first picture)
e) Something else?

Hair gathered together :::::::::::::: Hair as it naturally falls :::::::::::::::: Hair as it naturally falls spread out
http://i808.photobucket.com/albums/zz8/yapparibikkuri/7318e8bc-ed6f-43f5-9da0-7fa785760e3f.jpg (http://s808.photobucket.com/user/yapparibikkuri/media/7318e8bc-ed6f-43f5-9da0-7fa785760e3f.jpg.html)http://i808.photobucket.com/albums/zz8/yapparibikkuri/3b8762f0-1cac-4206-a945-41ea134dd670.jpg (http://s808.photobucket.com/user/yapparibikkuri/media/3b8762f0-1cac-4206-a945-41ea134dd670.jpg.html)http://i808.photobucket.com/albums/zz8/yapparibikkuri/3759f0f9-bd08-48d7-9d96-82fcf15a9b32.jpg (http://s808.photobucket.com/user/yapparibikkuri/media/3759f0f9-bd08-48d7-9d96-82fcf15a9b32.jpg.html)

Hair from the front