PDA

View Full Version : Desperate-Will it ever grow back again?

kmdcrowley
November 23rd, 2014, 09:05 PM
So I am in my fourth year of medical catastrophe.....the short version, 4 family cancers (2 deaths), 8 screenings for my own cancer, pneumonia, lung granulations, lung nodules, pulmonary embolism, asthma that went uncontrolled for 2 years even thought I was on 5 asthma meds, blood transfusion due to severe blood loss anemia, hypothyroidism which is mostly under control, and a number of MH diagnoses. I've lost a lot of health and now have ongoing conditions and disabilities.

It's been 31 months since the PE which was the participating event for telogen effluvium. I lost 75% of my thickness, my braid/pony was a handful (place your index tip to thumb tip, that's how thinck they were, now it's about the size of a wooden spoon handle. I was at a classic length with copper hair---think pre-raphaelite paintings). First they told me back to normal in 6-12 months (and seriously, I was like, my hair is 41 inches long and grows about 6 a year; it will take 7-8 years if nothing else happens), then well it will take awhile. 31 months later, I have had to slowly cut the length off because it looked more and more pathetic as time went on. First to my bra strap, then below shoulder, which quickly grew to below bra strp (like 4-5 months or in/month.) I even saw a hair expert and she was of the opinion that it would grow back, but said it seemed to be stopping and starting. I have very little hair fall at this point. Maybe 20 strands a day.