PDA

View Full Version : Should I finally go for a trim?

daredevil14
November 22nd, 2014, 06:34 AM
Ok here's the thing, I am not happy anymore with my BSL wavy/curly hair, its density is decreasing, ends are always messy and thin. I've been growing my hair for 4 years and a few months now (I am a guy, I started from a typical guy cut). I look at girls curly hemlines, they are pretty full and thick. Well, mine is nothing anymore, the hemline is too thin.

3 questions:

1) How can I differentiate a thin hair (and hemline) which is due to the natural density of my hair from unnatural reasons?

2) Should I finally go for a trim? (I only trimmed once during all these years)

3) I also want to differently part my hair, I have been parting it in the middle for years now, I want to change that tomorrow. Will this change anything?

Here's a pic I took it last year, I had no concerns of thin hair and ends back then:

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/s720x720/1234931_10153272557070338_677111981_n.jpg?oh=68476 8f8626f671d256759de78b41af6&oe=54DC6F30&__gda__=1427855496_2239d415aa7f472a46e8d0f97948cce c

Madora
November 22nd, 2014, 07:42 AM
Those are some curls you have, daredevil 14!

If you go to a salon to have the trim done (as opposed to doing it yourself i.e. Feye's self trimming method), then be sure the salon knows how to deal with curly hair! Also, bring a tape measure or ruler with you and SHOW the technician exactly how much you want trimmed. Just don't tell. SHOW THEM!

As far as parts go, a side part is really more aesthetically pleasing. The center part more or less "cuts your head in two" and is not as appealing as a side part. Side parts are also better for you, especially a right side part, because when you part your hair on the side, the follicles have to work just a little harder (which is good).