PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here

mamarussell
September 25th, 2008, 02:23 PM
Hi all! I am so glad to be here. I have "longish" hair: mid-back. I need serious help, though. My hair is wavy/curly. It is super frizzy. What do I do for it? I always wear my hair up with a scrunchy. Is that ruining my hair? I think it is because my ends look all scraggly now. How do I learn to put my hair up in something other than a pony-tail? I do not like to wear it down often because I am a busy mama of four and it gets in the way when it is down.

Any help is much appreciated!

Honigwein
September 25th, 2008, 04:38 PM
I have a baby too, and she usually pulls my hair and it´s really hard to find a good way for it. I usually vary on braids, the ones my daughter can´t touch easily. It would be nice to see some picture of you to see your hair situation. After Elisa was born my hair changed. I had more hair growing after a loss. The new ones grow frizzy but nothing a good product antifrizz and some patience can´t solve. Sorry my English is short to understand the term scrunchy, hehe. For my hair i never put it together very tight, even if wearing elastics. It can mark the hair and brake it, specially if it´s thin. The gentle people here will say something nicer than I do, but I hope I could help. Regards!

Amara
September 26th, 2008, 04:29 PM
I think doing anything "all the time" will eventually damage your hair at least a little bit, from the constant wear in the same place, even if it's very slightly. Could you vary the placement of your ponytail, or try pigtails?

There are lots of options for frizz - check out threads on washing with conditioner only (COing), using oils, rinses, and other stuff. You'll find a good solution soon! There are specific threads on curly hair and frizzies you can read through for various opinions and suggestions.