PDA

View Full Version : My hair is so heavy!

greywolf
October 18th, 2014, 06:49 PM
I've trying to grow my hair down to hip length, but I feel like it's been at waist length forever! I just end up getting so many split ends and then I have it trimmed. I know that I should keep it in a bun to protect my hair, but it feels so heavy that I start getting headaches. Does this happen to anyone else?

I probably also wash it more often than I should. I'm a nurse, so the thought of not washing my hair when I got home from work just makes me shudder. Who knows what nasty things are in it...

burny
October 18th, 2014, 06:55 PM
I bet some people will have good ideas.. Do you always wear it down then? How do you sleep on it? Do you S&D? blow dry, straighten, etc.?

Sarahlabyrinth
October 18th, 2014, 07:02 PM
My hair is getting heavy too - at least my buns. I couldn't find a comfortable style at all this morning so right now have my hair bunned right on top of my head! I may have to try sectioned buns......

I never would have expected that fine hair would ever feel heavy....

greywolf
October 18th, 2014, 07:11 PM
I bet some people will have good ideas.. Do you always wear it down then? How do you sleep on it? Do you S&D? blow dry, straighten, etc.?

I put it into a ponytail when I start work, but every time I sit down to chart, I take it down because I start getting a headache, then if I need to see a patient, I put it back up into a ponytail again.I need to find a hairstyle that doesn't give me such a headache so that I don't have to keep putting it up and taking it down while I'm at work.

I do blow dry now. Only because I don't have enough time to let it air air dry before I go to bed.

I probably don't S&D as often as I should, honestly.

meteor
October 18th, 2014, 07:19 PM
First of all, hair follicles need a long time to get used to being pulled in a new direction, so when you learn to put hair up it often hurts at first.