PDA

View Full Version : Pretend for a second there's someone new to long(ish) hair entirely.

Vaas
October 14th, 2014, 03:27 PM
What suggestions or beginning tools would you recommend? Hair sticks? A good pair of scissors? I'm nearly BSL with lots of layers, so updos in general dislike me. I know there are a gazillion tutorials out there, just trying to disgest all this information. I've started with S&D, and I feel like I've grabbed my scissors about 10 times today! :)

Madora
October 14th, 2014, 03:56 PM
[COLOR="#800080"]Welcome to LHC, Vaas!

Beginning tools: a wide tooth comb (check to be sure it has no seams!) Can be purchased at Sally's Beauty Supply or Target or Walgreen's. Beautiful combs also made by Speert International (which is what I use).

I believe in the power of the pure boar bristle brush. I've been using them since 1960, with great results. A good bbb need not cost you an arm and a leg either! Target is currently selling a very nice pure bbb, the Connair Classic Wood Natural Shine Booster for $9.99. It has six rows of pure boar bristles, a flat bottom (necessary for long hair), a good handle, with has a small neophrene-like black band around the neck of the brush to give your fingers better purchase when you brush your hair. I really like it. (All bbbs are not created equal. You need to be careful when looking for one).

Since you have layers, I suggest a one piece barrette like Goody makes to confine your hair (instead of a ponytail holder, which is not hair friendly).

Invest in a good set of scissors for S and Ding and be sure you use them for that purpose and nothing else.

Many folks here like silk pillowcase covers because it helps protect their fragile ends at night.

Shampoo: Only do it when your hair needs it! Try diluting a bit of water with the shampoo. Ditto for conditioner.
Personally, I use a few drops of mineral oil to condition and detangle