PDA

View Full Version : Hair Shedding 3-4x more than Usual ;-(

louzen
September 21st, 2014, 02:59 PM
Hi all

Apologies for posting this, you must see loads of these kind of 'shedding' of posts daily. It's just more for me to vent and release some stress. I have been treating my hair gently for about 3 years now and along with that and eating healthily, my hair had regained some nice thickness. I detangle every night, so I know how much I shed and over the 3 year period, I would shed about 10 hairs (max) every night, most nights 5 (I realise I would shed more throughout day without knowing).

Now, out of the blue I'm shedding about 3x that. I'm shedding about 30 hairs whenever I detangle. I'm noticing more throughout the day as well. I'm not doing anything different. I'm healthy (blood work done a while back and all is good) and not stressed (well I wasn't before this happened)

The only things I can think of that is different is I lost a bit of weight, but it was gradual and simply a consequence of eating healthier. I'm 119 pounds (54 kilos) and 5ft 3in. My hair has also gone from APL past BSL in the past year.

This has been going on for about 3 weeks now and I'm really getting anxious and stressed out about it to the point of nearly crying whenever I detangle my hair. I know I shouldn't, and there are bigger problems I could have but I've got fine hair and I haven't got a lot to spare and I only just regained thickness so it seems I'm going back to square one. It even feels thinner, but don't know if that's paranoia right now.

Any words of help would be greatly appreciated. I'm thinking of taking some MSM to see if that will help calm it down. I'm also going to try oiling it tonight with Jojoba.

Thanks again for listening. Apologies if I'm over-reacting. You can tell me if I am, I don't mind!

gthlvrmx
September 21st, 2014, 03:16 PM