PDA

View Full Version : Using hair sticks.

Spinder
September 17th, 2014, 06:26 PM
Sorry... complete noob here.

Seriously, how do you properly insert hair sticks so that they actually hold your style? I'm obviously doing it wrong because every time I try, my whole style just falls right out. :(

skeletonous
September 17th, 2014, 06:48 PM
I'll try and explain it the best way I can :) you basically want to put the stick in, in the opposite direction that you want it to go when you are done. Then, as you are flipping it the way you want to go, you will grab hair with it near the scalp and that is how you get it to stay. Maybe this will provide better explanation:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9JXMRpMMrM

laceyfairy
September 17th, 2014, 07:04 PM
I use the pivot technique. Starting with the point inserted into the bun pivot out (away from the center), and turn back in (toward the center), grabbing scalp hair as you push it through (to the opposite side of the bun).

I realized that this is basically the same explanation as skeletonous. Good luck in your hair adventures!

DreamSheep
September 17th, 2014, 07:15 PM
I haven't tried that approach yet, I stick it in, wiggle it to get some scalp hair, and then push it out again on the other side.

skeletonous
September 17th, 2014, 07:50 PM
I use the pivot technique. Starting with the point inserted into the bun pivot out (away from the center), and turn back in (toward the center), grabbing scalp hair as you push it through (to the opposite side of the bun).

I realized that this is basically the same explanation as skeletonous. Good luck in your hair adventures!

I think that's a great way to put it :p it's always good to have different explanations for the same thing. I didn't know it was called the pivot technique...the more you know!

PrincessBob
September 17th, 2014, 08:22 PM
This is my best demonstration.
http://youtu.be/zKreEv9smPM?t=2m30s

Edelweiss
September 18th, 2014, 12:20 AM