PDA

View Full Version : Complete and Utter Long Hair Newbie

Thrundor
September 17th, 2014, 01:11 PM
So as the title of my thread suggests I am very new at having hair that reaches past my shoulders and I have many questions to which I hope there are answers.

To start everything off is washing/conditioning of my hair. I have thick hair that reaches past my shoulders now and I really feel that the commercial shampoos that I have been using are really hard on my hair.

I have been trying http://www.fieldworkssupply.com/hose-off-body-wash/ but I am not sure if I like it. Are there better commercial shampoos out there?

The second choice/idea is for me to make my own shampoo but I am overwhelmed with the amount of information here at TLHC on this topic. Do I need a acid and a base? What should I use for them? Does it need an oil? Does it need to be refrigerated? And one of my main question on this topic is regarding the use of henna on hair, is henna used only as a coloring agent or does it also have benefits for your hair?

That is all starting off,

~Thrundor

Thrundor
September 17th, 2014, 01:18 PM
Looking up the Boar Bristle Brushes I found https://www.morroccomethod.com/ does anyone have experience with them?

Madora
September 17th, 2014, 01:30 PM
I have no experience with that method, Thrundor. For what it is worth, here is my collection of tips for using a pure boar bristle brush (based on more than 40 years experience):
Brushing with a boar bristle brush

Bend at the waist and bring all hair in front of you like a curtain
Finger comb gently down through the hair (I use 2 fingers)
Take a small, thin section of hair, and working from the ends, comb it out gently with your wide tooth comb. Go up the strands, little by little, until you reach the roots. You might want to scrunchie the hair you have already detangled to keep it separate from the other hair.

Continue until all the hair has been detangled

BRUSHING – Canopy hair: