PDA

View Full Version : Rough hair

tetisheri72
September 10th, 2014, 08:36 AM
I've been co-washing for a couple of months. I shampoo every 3 washes or so. The last 10 days or so, my hair has felt rough and dry-ish. I clarified Saturday. I co-washed last night. It still feels kind of rough. When I detangled my hair, I grabbed on of my sheds, and it snapped with absolutely no stretch at all.

I have started oiling my hair before a shampoo, but that was after it already felt rough. I haven't changed anything else. I do use a leave-in on the ends, and up to about the middle of my hair.

I'm not noticeably shedding more. I do have hypothyroidism, and I'm going in for a check with my doc tomorrow, but I don't think it's that. Better to rule it out though.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking I want to do one of those protein treatments you can pick up at Sally's, and I probably need a good moisture treatment. I was thinking a SMT, but I don't have a microwave, and I am kind of worried about heating it up on the stove. I really don't want conditioner in any of my pains.

So, please help my poor hair?

Zesty
September 10th, 2014, 10:01 AM
Disclaimer: not an expert on protein. However, generally speaking if your hair is snapping with no stretch, protein is probably bad. That usually indicates that you need moisture. I'd clarify again just in case it's some sort of super evil buildup, then SMT (you could maybe boil water in a pot and put a bowl over that, to avoid putting conditioner straight in your pots/pans). I'm sure a non-heated SMT wouldn't be terrible. I'm thinking maybe the stuff you put in your hair might be preventing moisture from penetrating your hair? Just a guess though. Others will probably have better advice.

Zesty
September 10th, 2014, 10:02 AM
It also might be helpful for the purpose of troubleshooting if you were more specific about your products. Cones/no cones, what kind of oil, specific brands, even.

tetisheri72
September 10th, 2014, 10:16 AM