PDA

View Full Version : How do you know if your hair needs protein?

Eastbound&Down
September 2nd, 2014, 09:30 AM
I noticed yesterday when I was brushing my hair (BBB) that my ends are starting to get pretty crispy and crunchy but after a thorough search, I couldn't find any damage. I've been CO washing for a little over a year, clarify once/twice a month and use a leave in and oil. I've never done a protein treatment because I'm scared it will hurt my hair. What do you guys think? What protein treatments do you use and how often?

brickworld13
September 2nd, 2014, 09:33 AM
First thing I would check out of utter paranoia is if the BBB is 100% natural bristles. I had one once that was labeled as such, but had nylon bristles hidden in it. I was really irritated and had to deal with a lot of resulting damage.

Zesty
September 2nd, 2014, 10:18 AM
I'm not a huge expert on protein, but to me it sounds like you might just need to clarify and then moisturize. Nothing about what you described screams "needs protein" to me. IIRC, usually hair that needs protein is "mushy/gummy" when wet (if you pull on a wet strand it just stretches and doesn't bounce back to its original length).

Anje
September 2nd, 2014, 11:33 AM
I'm not a huge expert on protein, but to me it sounds like you might just need to clarify and then moisturize. Nothing about what you described screams "needs protein" to me. IIRC, usually hair that needs protein is "mushy/gummy" when wet (if you pull on a wet strand it just stretches and doesn't bounce back to its original length).
This is my impression too. People who REALLY need protein tend to describe mushy wet hair. "Feels like wet paper" is one I've seen several times. It's stretchy. When they just need some, they tend to describe hair that feels lank, looks almost greasy when it isn't, and typically lacks volume. It might feel dry, strangely enough, but moisture treatments don't help.