PDA

View Full Version : Want to go blonde; is there any good way to do it?

blabyda
August 26th, 2014, 07:21 PM
This is my first time posting but i'm a long time lurker :D

i'll give a brief hair-history;

I used to have really blonde hair as a child, and like many of those born blonde, i started highlighting my hair when i was about 13. That started a long process of my dying my hair various colours and having every colour fade to the same orange hue, whilst having really damaged hair. So about 2 years ago I decided to stop dying my hair, and at the same time I grew it pretty long, and managed to reach waist length. I decided that I wanted a change though, so I got a long bob, which I absolutely love. I had horrible issues with big matted knots at the nape of my neck several times a day, and cutting it solved it entirely. Thanks to my lurking here I also managed to improve the condition of my hair, and it went from being really damaged to what I would consider very healthy.

Here's what my hair was like a few months ago;
http://i60.tinypic.com/rhswef.jpg

it's kind of hard to see where the regrowth line is, but it's now at about my chin. But I plan on getting my hair cut back in to a long bob so pretty much all of the dyed ends will be gone, leaving my with an entire head of virgin hair.

The thing is I really liked being blonde, and as much as I love the how healthy and soft my virgin hair is, I can't wrap my head around being a brunette. I've just always been blonde, and whilst I dyed my hair i could at least kid myself that my natural hair was still blonde (I was sorely disappointed when summer came around and my natural hair stayed mousy brown). But I just find my own hair colour so boring; i'm really pale and have brown eyes so it's just so plain looking.