PDA

View Full Version : Question for Wavies and Wurlies

Jennwith4
August 14th, 2014, 06:02 PM
I'm new to my wavy/wurly hair and I was wondering what a good gel or mousse would be for holding my waves in place? Preferably cone free. Tried a new washing and styling method today and my hair clumped nicely but separated and frizzed as it air dried. Especially the very right and left side of the outside length and the back, really any spot that came in contact with anything. Any air drying tips as well for my long locks?

molljo
August 14th, 2014, 06:35 PM
LA Looks and EcoStyler are both very cheap and great alcohol- & silicone-free brands that get lots of love in other wavy/curly areas of the internet. (I'm using the yellow LA Looks and I'd give it a B+). I'm not a big fan of mousse since it seems to promote more tangles than I'd like, while not doing a great job at defining my waves. There's also aloe vera gel and homemade flax seed gel, neither of which I've tried, but they seem to be hit or miss.

As for drying, have you tried plopping?

lilin
August 14th, 2014, 06:39 PM
I've heard good things about flaxseed gel, as something to spray on before "plopping" which doesn't leave any crunchy feeling or weight.

I'm going to give it a try myself and report back when I have. :)

My wurls are getting stronger with my new wash routine, but they still tend to come out with combing or being put up for any substantial length of time.

Madora
August 14th, 2014, 06:54 PM
My hair is slightly wavy and years ago I developed a technique, "Fanning the Strands" that helps me air dry in very short time:
Madora's Unique Air Drying Technique (aka “Fanning the Strands”)

With thanks to Ktani for her suggestion and encouragement!

Hair should be completely detangled and slightly damp before starting. The more water you can express from your strands, the faster the air drying will be.