PDA

View Full Version : My hair needs help!

hopeforchange
August 13th, 2014, 02:33 PM
Hey, I'm new here and this site is overwhelming!! I've been growing my hair out for a couple of years now, from a pixie cut, and it is almost BSL now. But it's not very healthy and I don't know what to do to help it out. I know the basics of caring for hair; I went a long time without blow drying it and I only wash it every 4 days. I have recently started blow drying it because I have to look neat and professional at my job, so I can't go out with wet hair. I figured that at least I only wash it and blow dry it every 4 days instead of every day or every other day, lol. I use a fair amount of product in it right now to try and make it thicker and shinier, but it's not working.

My hair is dull and frizzy. It tangles easily and I shed SO MUCH! It's very fine and while I'm a ii, my hair quickly thins out. My ends are definitely damaged from a bad brand of hair dye a couple of years ago that stripped my hair. :-/ I have been contemplating just getting a couple of inches trimmed off, but I'm not sure if I should do that or not.

What are some things I can do to make my hair healthier? I would like to have fuller, shinier hair, the way my hair used to be several years ago. I'm a student and a single mom so my money and time are limited...cheap things that I can work into my busy schedule are preferable!

I look forward to hanging out here!

meteor
August 13th, 2014, 02:43 PM
A few things that I'd recommend right away:
- checking your detangling tools and using them slowly, without ripping through hair: you should detangle with fingers and/or wide-tooth seemless combs
- sleeping with hair contained on silk/satin (pillowcase / sleep cap / scarf / shirt) - this really reduces frizz and cuticle damage during sleep;
- pre-poo oiling: here's a great article on this - http://science-yhairblog.blogspot.ca/2014/03/oil-pre-shampoo-or-pre-wash.html