PDA

View Full Version : Proud of myself

polishrose
August 12th, 2014, 01:57 PM
My 16 year old wanted to dip dye the tips of her hair red so after a short discussion she agreed to try henna. We bought lush caca rouge and she has about 20 mins to go until she washes it off. She has almost waist length hair so I wouldn't want her to ruin it. Pics will follow later. :)

NatNat
August 12th, 2014, 02:12 PM
Oooo I'm excited to see how it turns out! :)

polishrose
August 12th, 2014, 07:57 PM
Turned out too ginger so she is going to redo it tomorrow. She wants a bright red. Her hair is honey blonde. Any ideas how to get it to the shade she wants? It was on her hair 3 hours.

Ishje
August 12th, 2014, 10:34 PM
I think the color of henna changes after it is applied, maybe she should wait a couple of day's.
Also, The color changes when you apply it more often. I have seen people that use henna who started with orange hair, and after a year of henna it was more a dark red.

I am not an expert though. I imagine it is difficult to get the exact color you want with henna.
I suggest you try and find a henna topic, and read it for more info.

Johannah
August 13th, 2014, 03:47 AM
Can't wait to see some pics! :)

Kherome
August 13th, 2014, 07:35 PM
Pics ?????

Firefox7275
August 14th, 2014, 01:09 PM
Go over it with a high pigment semi permanent (eg. Manic Panic, La Riche Directions) ideally left overnight. Ends are always somewhat damaged from normal 'weathering' so may well be porous enough to accept a semi permanent. Her hair will not come out bright red without persulphate bleach/ peroxide tho unless she has a fairly light base colour (blonde to light auburn).

polishrose
August 14th, 2014, 05:55 PM
Hi we looked at semi permanents but they were all brown or darker. Her hair is a light honey blonde naturally. I forgot to take pics today. It did darken a little overnight. I will take pics tomorrow.

polishrose
August 17th, 2014, 07:53 AM
Here's her hair. She has braid waves :)