PDA

View Full Version : Using a pencil as a stick

sarahthegemini
August 12th, 2014, 10:54 AM
Hey guys, sorry for the multiple threads recently, im trying to find the best way of securing my hair! Spin pins rarely hold, elastics break my hair, beak clips (with teeth) are okay but sometimes pull or strands get caught in the hinge. I've tried 2 pronged stick type things that were very smooth and shiny that didn't hold - maybe too slippery for my hair? Anyway I'm tempted to try using a pencil! I figured it might have more grip. My hair is insanely slippy. The only bun I've mastered is a cinnabun but I want to try others in conjunction with the pencil stick. Any tricks I should know of to help me? Bun types/tension/position etc? I'm a total novice!

My hair is baby fine and just past shoulder and as I said, very slippy!

meteor
August 12th, 2014, 11:08 AM
At around shoulder-length, the things I'd recommend the most are claw-clips / jaw-clips. They are perfect for shorter length, they are hair-friendly and they really hold very well even slippery hair. I'd recommend peacock twists at this length.

I'm not surprised forks didn't work for you yet... I think they require much longer hair... and the same applies to pencils, I'm afraid. :( I just can't see a pencil holding shoulder-length hair, because I can't imagine what pencil bun would work... But there is certainly no harm in trying!

mouse2cat
August 12th, 2014, 11:15 AM
There is nothing wrong about using a pencil. I find that they can snag hair if the sharpened end isn't smooth enough. Because you are dealing with relatively shorter hair my preferred style was the french braid. Which you can tuck the tail back into itself and secure with a stick to get it off your neck.

I second the useful claw clip comment. I would use a medium size clip and secure it on the top, rather than trying to use the clip to bite all the hair...

mouse2cat
August 12th, 2014, 11:21 AM