PDA

View Full Version : Glasses and hair don't get along

irodaryne
August 4th, 2014, 12:45 PM
I've tried to find a thread about this but I've not seen any.... (I also really hope I put this in the right place)

I've been wearing glasses for many years now, and regardless of the type of glasses I'm wearing, regardless of the material, shape, etc., I've always had this huge problem where my hair snags in my glasses where the arm connects to the frame. It's not as bad when my hair is longer (though it still happens enough), but the shorter my hair the bigger this problem is. I do sometimes wear contacts, but sometimes I just can't, or I can't afford to get them (as is my case right now. I have special eyes :p (teeheeheehee I loved that commercial, it always made me giggle). And by that I mean I've got an astigmatism in one eye and need special contact lenses for it and that gets expensive.

I figured I'd make a thread for complaining about it as well as for sharing any advice for dealing with your hair and glasses fighting.

cathair
August 4th, 2014, 12:51 PM
Hello, another astigmatism (and other things) person who can't afford contacts over here :waving:

Best thing I have found to help with with hair snagging in hinges of glasses is to make sure the screws are on the tight side. On my glasses at least if the screw is adjusted to the arms are quite stiff, the gap in the outside of the hinge is decreased and hair gets stuck in it a lot less.

PsychoLoverly
August 4th, 2014, 01:13 PM
I have that problem as well :( However, I find keeping my hair prevents this quite a bit. If it does get caught, slowly release the hair and don't tug on it. At least that's what works for me. I digress it is very annoying and painful if you accidentally pull and you don't know it was caught. 0.o

Kimberly
August 4th, 2014, 01:17 PM