PDA

View Full Version : Help Please: wisps, flyaways, gel, hairspray and keeping it tidy!

Loviatar
August 4th, 2014, 01:31 AM
Hello everyone,

so finally I can now put my virgin hair up in a bun with a stick! It has to be damp to go up at the moment though so the stick needs to be metal or acrylic (see photo).

But I have a lot of not quite grown out layers from my old pixie, and as a result I have a ton of wisps and flyaways. The majority as you can see in the pic are held up at the back with two black sleepy clips. However the ones that bother me most are my bangs layers. They are nose length and drive me insane especially for work (I'm a student midwife and have to have my hair up and off my face.)

I have been doing basic ponytails for the past few months and using Elnett hairspray to keep the wisps neat and off my face, which I hate as it dries my hair out and it stinks, or aloe gel which doesn't hold on a windy day (plus they both dry crunchy, which is disgusting to me). Has anyone got any tips for what I could use instead, other than lots of bobby pins or an Alice band (not comfortable as I wear glasses so already have something tucked behind my ears)?

Damp cinnabun Photo:

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/Kate_Blacksmith/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps25b4d054.jpg (http://s77.photobucket.com/user/Kate_Blacksmith/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps25b4d054.jpg.html)

Syren_Curls
August 4th, 2014, 03:25 AM
A few things I did while growing out my bangs during that unpleasant phase included bobby pinning them straight back or to one side, but always with a bit of a pouf. Doing that only required 2-3 pins since the section of hair was gathered together for the pouf. I also did twists, lace, or dutch braids with them and varied that to either side (a few inches past ear) or the center of my head. That again only required a tiny butterfly clip or 1-2 bobby pins for me. I made sure wherever I secured them was comfortable and out of the way.