PDA

View Full Version : My scalp is not happy. Advice?

Khristopher
July 30th, 2014, 05:18 PM
Well I've noticed a few weeks ago my scalp started to itch a day or two before washday. It never happened to me before so I'm rather surprised. I think I have some dandruff too, when I scritch my itching scalp, it looks like it's snowing lol. It's winter here, could it be that my the dry wheather is affecting my skin?
And I was thinking putting some aloe vera gel directly... is that a good idea? How do you deal with this?

Entangled
July 30th, 2014, 05:34 PM
What is your wash schedule like? What products do you currently use?

Khristopher
July 30th, 2014, 05:48 PM
Wash once a week with diluted sls shampoo, then a coffee-nettle-horsetail concoction for a few minutes, a light coneless conditioner and finish with an ACV rinse. I've done this routine for almost a year without problems. The coffee rinse I've been doing it for 2 months but I don't think it's causing this problem.

Firefox7275
July 30th, 2014, 05:59 PM
What is the medical diagnosis for your condition? Dandruff is a lay term, encompassing several dermatological disorders which result ion flaking and/ or itching. Once you have a diagnosis you can treat it, be aware that works for one can easily WORSEN another.

Khristopher
July 30th, 2014, 08:23 PM
Firefox, do you think I should go to a derm to have a diagnosis? I don't really trust dermatologist, I own many bad experiences with them and honestly prefer to avoid them. If this gets worse or doesn't go away I'll probably get an appointment with a derm anyways, but I wanted to see if there was anything I could do now.

ravenreed
July 30th, 2014, 08:26 PM
What happens if you wash a day or two early? I have noticed that the needs of my scalp and hair have changed with length of hair, season, weather, diet, and age... you might simply be able to readjust a bit and be fine.

ARG
July 30th, 2014, 08:56 PM