PDA

View Full Version : What buns are center-held?

meteor
July 25th, 2014, 06:23 PM
Sorry if it's a dumb question, but what is a center-held bun?

I'm wondering about this, because I see people writing about center-held buns and how they may need different (shorter?) hair tools. But I can't figure out what makes a bun center-held and I can't find any threads with a definition. :confused: I mean, don't all buns have some center?

DKSABS
July 25th, 2014, 06:24 PM
I was wondering the exact same thing last night. Looking forward to seeing the answers!

chen bao jun
July 25th, 2014, 06:30 PM
I'm by no means an expert but I did learn (after much confusion) that the nautilus is a center held bun. What center held seems to mean is that, unlike buns such as the cinnabon where you have to put the hairtoy though the whole bun, starting from the outside, you put the hairtoy in the middle of the nautilus (I believe the lazy wrap is like this too) and the whole bun stays up, including the outside which has no hairtoy holding it.
Hence, you can use smaller toys, since they only have to hold the center.
I was able to use a large flexi 8 for the first t ime, as opposed to having to use the extra large, because my hair has grown enough so that I can make a nautilus and hold just the center of that, as opposed to having to have enough flexi to pin over my whole cinnablob, which was all I could make with shorter hair. Make sense?

ExpectoPatronum
July 25th, 2014, 06:30 PM
I totally know what it is, but I can't figure out a way to explain it!

You know how some buns have you going through a "loop" of hair, through the middle of a bunch of hair and then out through another "loop"? That middle bit is the center and that makes it a center held bun. The Lazy Wrap Bun is an example of this.

There isn't a middle bit in the cinnabun,for example.

meteor
July 25th, 2014, 06:33 PM
Thank you so very much, chen bao jun and ExpectoPatronum! Excellent explanations indeed! :D Thank you!

Hairitic