PDA

View Full Version : I'm gonna perm my hair...

nena_shawty
July 14th, 2014, 05:30 PM
Ok so I have never permed my hair. I want to get bouncy curls by perming my hair. Spiral curls to be exact. I have almost tailbone length hair and it's pretty healthy. Has anyone got a perm on tailbone length hair? And is it a good idea? Yes, maybe, or nooooo don't do it?! I think my hair would do good with a perm, I used to have curly hair as a toddler and my hair curls pretty easily now. I'm just gonna have to get somebody very experienced with perms. My hair is very thick so it would prob cost an arm and a leg however maybe I'll get lucky and get somebody who won't charge over 100 dollars. So does anybody have any comments or advice? I'm gonna deep condition and hair treatments prior to perming, I know to do that. I know that their will be some damage but my hair is healthy enough so it won't totally make it crumble. I hope. Lol. I've been growing my hair out for 4 years from shoulder length. So I am a bit nervous. :hmm::pray:shudder::couch::hmm::scared: ok maybe a little bit more than a bit nervous lol.

lapushka
July 14th, 2014, 05:41 PM
I have had several perms in my day, and one recent one a few years ago. I only got one perm on long hair (MBL) and it was a spiral perm. The last perm I got, a few years ago, left my hair riddled with white dots. They all were cut out at some point, but that left my hair so thinned out (there really was a lot of damage), that we cut it back from almost TBL to about BSL.

As long as you know it's not damage-free and you're going to have to switch up the way you care for your hair (curly girl), it's all good.

Stormynights
July 14th, 2014, 05:44 PM
I was a hair stylist for over 40 years and my advice to you would be to forget the perm and just enjoy your hair as it is.

lunalocks
July 14th, 2014, 05:44 PM