PDA

View Full Version : Help!!! Bugs!

Jennwith4
July 2nd, 2014, 06:30 PM
What's the best remedy for head lice? Just discovered some on my 7 year old.

chen bao jun
July 2nd, 2014, 07:17 PM
TEa tree oil, I have heard, but others should weigh in as I have no experience.

meteor
July 2nd, 2014, 07:28 PM
Neem oil is the best natural solution for head lice because it kills lice and eggs, as well. Unlike with many other natural oils, you may not need to reapply neem, because it's really effective.
Tea tree oil is good, too, but don't forget that tea tree is an essential oil so you'll need to dilute it in a carrier oil. And some people report dryness with tea tree.

chen bao jun
July 2nd, 2014, 07:45 PM
I have a friend who got them last year from an orphan she had adopted, I will ask her how she got rid of them.

pinchbeck
July 2nd, 2014, 08:19 PM
When my son got lice I mixed: neem seed oil (as mentioned above), rose geranium oil, tea tree oil with conditioner and left it on his hair for a few minutes. It killed the live lice and I picked out the nits with a nit comb and repeated this treatment again every day until they were all gone! I also treated my hair with the same mixture just in case the little buggers were in my hair.

Jennwith4
July 2nd, 2014, 08:56 PM
Where would I find neem oil I looked at my local natural/organic/vitamin store and no luck.

meteor
July 2nd, 2014, 09:06 PM
Where would I find neem oil I looked at my local natural/organic/vitamin store and no luck.

Do you have any Indian shops nearby? Even small ones usually carry it and sell it pretty cheaply (just $5 - $8 where I live).

Jennwith4
July 2nd, 2014, 09:11 PM
Not sure I'll have to ask around.

browneyedsusan
July 2nd, 2014, 09:18 PM
You can find neem oil at the garden center. It's good for all kinds of bugs!

jacqueline101
July 2nd, 2014, 09:19 PM