PDA

View Full Version : Honey/ACV rinse problems

sexyjacksparrow
September 17th, 2008, 02:03 AM
I just tried a honey and ACV rinse today for the first time. I didn't measure put I used about 1.5 tablespoons of honey and about 2 tablespoons of ACV in a 500ml bottle of hot/warm water. I did rinse afterwards with water under the shower for a min or two.

My hair is now all fluffy and frizzy and smells of vinegar - yuck. I guess the smell is because I either used too much vinegar or didn't rinse enough. Do you think the smell will fade or intestify over the course of the day? I hope I'm not going to smell like a chip shop all day!

What about the fluffy/frizzy - is that the honey or the veingar that has done that. I've never used either ingredient in any combination on my hair before so I don't know.

Thanks!

Rini
September 17th, 2008, 04:00 AM
I have never done this kind of rinse before, but I hope someone can help you out! Sounds awful :(

carolineb
September 17th, 2008, 04:08 AM
regarding the smell, it should fade away as your hair gets dry, i think.

Katze
September 17th, 2008, 04:11 AM
I'm curious as to why you mixed honey and vinegar? For me, honey is conditioning and soothing, whereas vinegar is deep cleaning and helps replace the acidic balance of scalp skin...perhaps the mix itself was your main problem?

When I vinegar rinse, I put about 2 TBSP vinegar (doesn't matter what kind) in a 2 liter bottle of lukewarm water, shake it up, then use that to rinse my hair, alternating with water rinses. I make sure to let the vinegar sit on my scalp/hair for a few minutes.

When I use honey, I use crystallized honey as a scalp and face scrub, as well as a face mask. Great for eczema, SD, acne, just overall dull and sensitive skin regardless of if that skin is on the face or on the head. With honey, you have to be extremely careful to rinse it out VERY thoroughly - perhaps this is also part of your problem?

sexyjacksparrow
September 17th, 2008, 05:55 AM
Thanks girls!