PDA

View Full Version : Calling all flat iron users - heat styling newbie here

Juliet's Silk
May 22nd, 2014, 03:56 AM
So I need the LHC wisdom of the flat ironing crowd here :lol:
After being unhappy with my hair for years now and after cutting ~10" recently and still not being happy with it, I decided I would try a flat iron for the first time in my life. I have never used heat styling on my hair before (even pre LHC, out of laziness) so I really, REALLY have no clue. I don't even own a blow dryer...
I bought a flat iron (medium price range) yesterday and now I should learn how to use it, right? I already own these heat protectant leave-ins (got them for free somewhere?), so that is set.

I really don't like how my hair looks when worn down - for the longest time I have battled with frizz and "clumping" of hair strands and the realization that my problems stem from the fact that my hair is not straight but 1c/"can I call this 2a" did not really help.
I just want the frizz toned down, but I don't want to get stick straight hair - I like the body waves I get from bunning. How would I go about that with a flat iron? Would it be enough to just iron the top layer of the hair? And could I achieve body waves through "turning" the flat iron while using it somehow? How about the temperature? I think I would use it at really low, would that suffice? What happens if there is oil on the hair when you flat iron it? Is this good or a nono? I usually use some oil (camellia or coconut) on the lengths after washing, so that would still be there when flat ironing.

I have watched a lot of youtube videos about it but what these girls do to their hair is hard to watch for someone accustomed to LHC handling :lol: and most of them don't seem to really know what they're doing, so I thought it better to ask you.