PDA

View Full Version : Achieve dark blonde hair color from amla/cassia?

Ravenwind
May 8th, 2014, 10:42 PM
Is it possible to achieve a dark blonde hair color from an amla/cassia mix, or another mix similar to that?

I'm only asking because my hair is naturally dark blonde, and I have been growing it out (henna) for 2 1/2 years and vowed I wouldn't dye it again. Well... that didn't exactly work out, lol. I tried to go a little bit lighter with a highlighting product, but while it did lighten, it turned my hair more golden, which I don't really like. So then recently I dyed my hair with a semi-permanent hair dye (light red-brown) but it barely left a tint. It kinda made my hair more golden and verryyyy slightly red, kind of more auburn.

I was thinking about buying a couple boxes of "dark ash blonde" hair dye, just to get back to that color, but then I started to wonder if it's possible to achieve that color or something close with cassia.

Any ideas?

Thanks!

For references, this is about what my natural color looks like (maybe a little bit darker) and this is the color I'm thinking about going with. But I also wonder how it would turn out with the leftover henna on my ends...
http://www.sunsettrading.us/COLORSILK-60-6A-DARK-ASH-BLONDE-12cs_p_4498.html

ErinLeigh
May 8th, 2014, 11:52 PM
What color/shade do you have right now? Would this be for toning the new dye and the henna color?

Katrine
May 9th, 2014, 01:31 AM
If you recently colored, you need to wait at least 8 weeks and then do a strand and allergy test to make sure your hair doesn't turn orange or green and that you don't have a reaction to it. Cassia and henna only deposit color on the hair, they can't really lighten like commercial color. I think in some cases it can appear to lighten a shade or two.