PDA

View Full Version : Why Do Some Peoples Hair Grow Faster Than Others?

Ellethwyn
April 24th, 2014, 12:23 PM
Why do some peoples hair grow faster than others? I've been growing my hair out from chin length for six years now and it's to the end of my ribs/ the top of my lower back now. My friend cut his hair to chin length around the same time I started to grow my hair and his hair was to his tail bone in 3 years!!! I think guys hair grows faster.

How can I get my hair to grow faster?

Ellethwyn
April 24th, 2014, 12:29 PM
Is it even possible to get your hair to grow faster? lol:)

Sharysa
April 24th, 2014, 12:35 PM
Some people's hair just grows faster, but there's a lot of factors involved. Height helped me get my hair from a couple inches past shoulder to past waist-length in two years, but it was also because I didn't trim for a year aside from getting rid of split ends.

A lot of people are fed the belief that trimming your hair makes it grow faster, but logic means that the very idea is flawed; hair is dead and cutting it sends no biological signals to your scalp that it needs to make more hair. It's mostly just a money-making scheme for hair-dressers.

Your guy friend probably got more growth because men don't put as much emphasis on hair in general, so he wouldn't have been unwittingly trimming off half his growth every month.

Then some people just have fragile hair that needs constant babying even when virgin and at peak health, while others like me have hair that grows like a weed with only protective styling, a good natural shampoo and oiling twice a week.

Edit: The thing that helps most people is protective styling, like braids or buns. It keeps your hair from tangling too much and getting damaged from rubbing on your clothes or chairs.