PDA

View Full Version : Microtrimming for curlies

CurlyOne
April 24th, 2014, 07:50 AM
So I have been thinking about doing micro trimming as I grow out. I have kind of thin hair and the last time I grew out, the ends drove me nuts. This time around I think I want to try trimming, not just S&D. Thing is, my hair is pretty curly and I don't exactly know how that effects trimming. I have never done trimming before. I did a search and I didn't find anything relating specifically to curly hair and micro trimming or dusting. Is there anyone who can point me in the right direction or give me their experience with growing curly hair and dusting?

lapushka
April 24th, 2014, 08:25 AM
You either use Feye's method, the compact cut method for layering or you cut each individual curl to your desired length (devacut).

Marbid
April 24th, 2014, 09:54 AM
Personally... I straighten my hair slightly for a feyes method.. Best way for an accurate blunt trim.. I only straighten slightly.. Just enough to get the ends lying in the same direction. Not for straight hair desire.. The difference is... I dont mind the kinks.. And i use the lowest temp on the iron..

Then an oil soak... And wash hair the next day... I do this on maybe my 4th dirty hair day..

And micro trim every 4 months.. In the end.. I straighten my hair only 3 times a year.. I dont think thats too bad.. Depends on your hair thou.

The key is to get the ends to all face the same direction.. If you can do that with a buble braid all the way to the tips.. You might get a decently accurate cut.. You cant tell a mistake all that well on curly hair any ways. But my ends will all come out jagged and spiky like if i try to micro trim any other way... And it just bothers me.

I feel more in control when all my hair lies in the same direction.. But yeah, just find a way to get your ends to face the same way.. Uniform.. And do a feyes cut..

Sparklylady82
June 9th, 2014, 10:33 PM