PDA

View Full Version : Hair Drama:Emotional Stress

PeaceWithTrees
September 14th, 2008, 08:17 PM
Hello, I am new to the LHC, I have been on here all day trying to get to know the place. I'm am pleased to see so many others with the same goal or healthy longer hair.

I have been trying to grow out my hair for about 2 years now. Much of my desire has been practiced in secret. Only about 2 months ago I was "discovered" to be trying to grow out my hair, and Unfortunatly, my goal is not supported or taken seriously by others around me.

Sense then, I have began to doubt that I can grow my hair to my desired lenght. I beleive growing hair is a skill, and it has been a slow process to learn the best ways. My hair has been progressily growing faster as a learn how to treat it, and it was previously very long when I was a child. However, dispite what I'v learned or past evidence of having long hair, I have been feeling doubtful.

Have people around you doubted you?
How did you realize your goal?
How have you delt with emotional stress surrounding your goals?

Gumball
September 14th, 2008, 08:22 PM
I got a lot of flak when I started trying to grow my hair out, but determination and really not caring as much about what others thought really helped get through that. As I have no set goal that's basically the way I realized it. I started growing it, it got long enough to style, and I've been having fun since. I guess I haven't experienced too much stress surrounding it aside from the initial "Why?" and the occasional "You should get it cut." Dealing with any stress is balanced by knowing I'm enjoying the journey and it's bolstered by having people out there, just like this community, who are supportive and encouraging the whole way through. :) We're here to support you, too!

MsBubbles
September 14th, 2008, 08:41 PM