PDA

View Full Version : Recommend a hair toy :)

Arwenlily
April 12th, 2014, 08:27 PM
Hi LHC lovelies,

I'm a hair toy novice and am just beginning to create my collection. I don't yet have the beautiful hair forks, hair sticks, flexi 8s, or ficcares that you all have :-(. All I have so far are some claw clips, spin pins, and cloth hair ties. Which hair toy would you recommend to me to begin my collection? Maybe one from your own collection that you think gets the most use?

arr
April 12th, 2014, 08:32 PM
I know its expensive but lately the hair toy i use most is my ficcare maximus. My second most used items are my Eaduard acrylic hairsticks. Theyre just very comfortable, durable, pretty and easy to use.

ravenheather
April 12th, 2014, 08:37 PM
My favoritest hair toy right now is a 3 prong jeterfork. So comfy and hold so well. Reasonably priced as well. My other favorite are mamacat spirals, but they are very hard to get.

Quasiquixotic
April 12th, 2014, 08:37 PM
I would suggest one acrylic stick (eaduard), one wood fork (jetterforks or 60th street) and one ficcare/flexi.

Check the swap board for deals. Look at the toy threads for suggestions and to find the kind that most appeals to you. Reading this forum the one constant I've seen is that everyone is different. And that different toys (or types of toys) will hold hair in different styles for different amounts of time differently on different people. So yeah, you just gotta try things and find out for yourself what your hair likes. I also think all toys have a learning curve so try and try and try and then give up, wait 3-5 inches and try try try it again :)

For me the single easiest toy is an acrylic stick. It will hold dry or wet hair they don't break and they come in awesome colors.

If money is really tight you can sand down a wooden chopstick and paint it with nail polish. If it's not then check out timberstone turnings and Grahtoe studios.

But just so you know, there is no such thing as "A" hair toy :)