PDA

View Full Version : What Makes It a Protective Style?

Syren_Curls
April 12th, 2014, 01:40 PM
Hi Longhairs!

Thanks to some threads here and all of the helpful feedback, I'm back to caring for my hair with lots of TLC :-) AT TBL headed to classic, one of the things I've committed to as part of even better care for my hair is making sure it's up a great majority of the time. I am still learning some of the go-to's for people, such as a few of the buns and hair forks are a purchase I haven't made just yet, but while I get more advanced with my hair sticks and keep my hair up, I thought I would see about getting creative with some styles I *can* do. I just want to make sure it's all protective :-)

Hence my question: What are the components of a protective hairstyle? I know some, I just want to make sure there isn't anything I miss. For instance, no heat or on the cool setting if possible, and no teasing. I also know no hair elastics unless they are cloth covered and don't have metal pieces. Gentle handling as well, no snapping and ripping through hair. I also know not to style in the same spot every day, but it would be great if someone can flesh that out a little bit more, please.

What else makes up a protective style?

darklyndsea
April 12th, 2014, 01:51 PM
Keeps your hair from rubbing on anything or blowing around in the wind.

No damaging products like hairspray.

panffle
April 12th, 2014, 01:56 PM
Keeps ends protected (away from rubbing, like darklyndsea said), and comfortable to wear :) If it's too tight it can cause traction alopecia and breakage, so it's no good. For me, the least items I have to use to keep my hair up the better - some people like using hair sticks but I don't find these comfortable, I use a flexi-8 and it's perfect for this purpose.

Anje
April 12th, 2014, 02:07 PM
Preventing tangles / storing hair so that it stays untangled is a major point for me.

Syren_Curls
April 12th, 2014, 02:25 PM