PDA

View Full Version : Calorie restrictions and hair growth?

FallingDarkness
April 9th, 2014, 04:15 PM
So, long story short, I'd really like to lose a few pounds before prom. And I know I'm not fat, but it'd still be nice to be slimmer than I am now! So I'm going to be eating a smaller breakfast, skipping lunch, still eating dinner, and exercising. However, I am afraid that not eating my normal amount is going to have a negative impact on my hair growth! Is this true? IDK!!!

noteve
April 9th, 2014, 04:19 PM
You shouldn't skip lunch, just eat smaller portions!

Aside from that, if you're just going to lose a few pounds before prom and don't starve yourself completely, your hair should not suffer. Just don't eat too little, and get enough proteins.

FallingDarkness
April 9th, 2014, 04:21 PM
:) Okay great! That's exactly what I wanted to hear. I <3 my hair, and I want it to be as long as possible as soon as possible! :)

sumidha
April 9th, 2014, 04:21 PM
I'm not an expert, and generalizations are, well, generalizations, but I would say that rather than trying to eat less food, it would be better for your body to focus on eating healthier foods. For example, instead of entirely skipping lunch, eat some raw vegetables and nuts or fruit and plain yoghurt instead of a deli sandwich or hamburger.

In2wishin
April 9th, 2014, 04:37 PM
I agree with the others, just cut down portions and eat healthier food. From my personal experience, I have only had hair loss when dieting if I don't eat enough protein and fat.

~Abi~
April 9th, 2014, 04:55 PM