PDA

View Full Version : Oil: am I covering or fixing?

lectraplayer
April 8th, 2014, 08:43 PM
My hair is curly and is bad to frizz, but it settles down when I use oil. My question is am I just covering damage? Also, is this normal behavior for healthy curly hair?

bunnylake
April 8th, 2014, 09:11 PM
You should look into the "curly girl method" or "conditioner only washing". I'm not a curly so I'm no expert, but I know a lot of people have success with eliminating frizz with these methods. Otherwise it could just be that's the natural texture of your hair. Do you know for sure if your hair is damaged? Do you have split ends? If the oil works for you and your hair is otherwise healthy, I say keep using it. Hopefully some members with curly hair will have more advice.

lectraplayer
April 9th, 2014, 08:12 AM
I am not sure if it's damaged or not. How would I recognize damage? I primarily style with water and a brush. No heat or anything.

Kherome
April 9th, 2014, 08:30 AM
Well, I'm told curly hair should never be touched with a brush. So perhaps there is some damage.

lapushka
April 9th, 2014, 08:57 AM
Do look into the curly girl method! A brush should only be used on wet hair, preferably a Tangle Teezer, or a plain wide tooth comb for detangling. No brush on dry hair, ever!

lectraplayer
April 9th, 2014, 11:27 AM
No brush on dry hair, ever!

I figured that real quick as it plain don't work. As mentioned, I spray my hair with water prior to using a brush. Also, what I call a brush is not boar's hair but is the common Goody stiff rod type.

The one shown here:
http://www.healthyanswers.com/healthy-aging/hair/2008/03/beautiful-hair-starts-with-good-brush-care/

jeanniet
April 9th, 2014, 12:39 PM