PDA

View Full Version : I want to grow out my natural silvers, but it would be such a drastic line!

swearnsue
March 21st, 2014, 05:29 PM
My hair is probably about 50% silver and 50% medium ash brown. This is a guess because I've been using henna for almost 3 years now.

My hennaed hair is way too dark. I think I'm ready to go silver, since it's my natural color I think it would be flattering. From behind I like the color of my red hair but next to my pale face, not so good.

Any advice on how to maybe blend in the new roots as they grow or just go "cold turkey"? As my hair gets longer, applying henna is beginning to be a pain.

I have cassia in the freezer, so adding more of that to the henna mix could be an option.

*sigh*

Any advice? Oh, I'm not considering box dye.

spidermom
March 21st, 2014, 05:49 PM
I can see how the line of demarcation would be pretty stark. Some ideas:
Continue to henna few panels of hair (parted parallel from ear to ear, each panel about 1-inch thick), so that it layers like this:
henna
no henna
henna
no henna (and so forth - as many panels as you care to bother with, but the bottom-most panel should be no henna)

This would break up the "Creamsicle" line. This is how I did my first Punky dye experiment. It really softened the overall effect.

Otherwise you could use styling tricks to blur the line of demarcation by braiding ribbons or other materials into your hair to break up the color difference. Then there's wrapping your head in scarves, using hats, hair bands, etc.

Good luck! I know that removing henna is hard on the hair, but I remember claims of success in more than one thread.

Anje
March 21st, 2014, 06:09 PM
I agree with Spidermom. Some streaks and lowlights for a few years might be the best thing. Make it really gradual.

Rachel J
March 21st, 2014, 06:11 PM