PDA

View Full Version : Been losing hair for 6 months and started BCP recently

Samantha303
March 17th, 2014, 10:44 AM
I've been losing hair for the past 6 months and the shedding has remained around 50 per day for the past two months.
I can see some regrowth but my scalp is still a lil bit visible in areas where suffer the most. My sides are still very thin.

I have started BC pills for around 2 weeks and really concerned that it will affect my recovery. I have not experienced side effect from them so far apart from a lil weight gain.

I have been extremely stressed about my situation and feels that my hair is not recovering very well. Im scared that BC pills will make my situation even worse

I dont have a single family member who has hair issue and I dont have other scalp problem that is noticeable apart from thinning hair all over my head. Surprisingly my crown doesn't seem affected at all so im hoping it's just TE rather than AGA.

I had blood test done 3 weeks ago and came back all normal. I still need to get the actually report back to get a second opinion tho. :( I always feel tired and cant get enough rest even after 9 hour sleep.

Anje
March 17th, 2014, 01:07 PM
50 hairs a day is completely within the normal range of shedding, but if you're noticing that your scalp is showing more and/or that your hair is definitely thinner, it is cause for concern. Many, many problems can cause thinning, but the ones that come up the most are probably anemia, thyroid problems, and post-partum sheds (though the cause of those is pretty obvious). Additionally, the "always tired" definitely sounds symptomatic for anemia and/or thyroid troubles, so if either/both of those weren't checked, you definitely want to follow up with them. Someone who knows more about the thyroid stuff will probably come along and elaborate, but I think many have found it important that both T4 and TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) levels are checked; often doctors will only check TSH.