PDA

View Full Version : How to offer advice?

endlessly
March 14th, 2014, 11:07 AM
Let me first start with a little backstory:

A coworker of mine (who will remain nameless) easily has the most damaged hair I have ever seen in my entire life. When I first met her two years ago, her hair was just above waist level, very straight and jet black, and also for the most part, pretty healthy. Fast forward to about 6 months ago when she fell victim to the hair ombre trend and BOOM, damage city. I didn't realize how bad it had become until I kept noticing her hair getting shorter and shorter every week. When I finally asked her why she was getting it cut so frequently, she finally admitted that she hadn't been cutting it at all and that it was actually just breaking off.

Now, I'm not a haircare expert nor do I ever claim to be, but hair has to be pretty severely damaged to just break off in pieces like that!

Also, the ends that have been snapping off are covered in splits. Looking at her hair, I honestly wouldn't be able to find a single strand WITHOUT a split end.

I warned her that the reason for the constant breaking is because the splits have traveled up the hair shaft and the only way to prevent this is to trim it off, but I feel like she doesn't listen. She's constantly coming to me for haircare advice and wanting to know my routines for keeping my hair so healthy, but she doesn't really want to take my advice.

I know her current routine is to wash, blow dry, flat iron or curling iron every day, and she's mentioned using a heat protection spray once in a great while. How can I offer her my advice if she won't take it? I've tried the gentle approach since she's only a coworker versus a friend, I don't want to be too harsh with her, but since she's constantly asking me for help, I don't know what else to do.