PDA

View Full Version : help with the basics!

jsdolly122
March 13th, 2014, 02:25 PM
Hey all,
So I’m new to this whole “hair care” scene.. and trying to slowly find my way. It’s a lot of info to take in, and I’m slowly learning about my hair “properties”, as well as it’s “likes” and dislikes.
I would really appreciate some help figuring out the following:
-shampoo and condish
-leave in/ deep treatment
-protein treatment?
There are so many brands and options I don’t know where to begin!! :s

Here is a bit about my hair, what I have learned so far
it is DRY
About 6 inches of natural hair, and the rest (waist length) is dyed lighter
Type 2b/c waves
Medium/little bit coarse hair texture
The prorosity.. I am really not sure! I tried “feel test” but I can’t really tell.. I also tried the sink in water test – and it seems like the dyed part of my hair sank, but the natural part did not?
It is dry and brittle, and gets tangled very easily, and a lot falls out :(
Also if I don’t wash for a while it starts to turn into these dreadlocky twists

“likes” – coconut oil in small amounts

“dislikes” – AVC (turned my hair to straw!!)
-I tried doing a spray in water mix with treseme naturals condish and it did not help dryness
Any help and advice would be great, I really don’t know where to begin!

Madora
March 13th, 2014, 02:44 PM
Perhaps this might help a little: http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=120052

Not everything works for everyone.

meteor
March 13th, 2014, 02:51 PM
We've got similar hair texture, and I also have some bleach at my ends, and I think I know what you mean when you are describing that dryness, liking oils and disliking ACV.