PDA

View Full Version : Making waves for a bun

tlover
March 3rd, 2014, 02:11 AM
Ok, I'm not sure how I should explain this but I'll try.

I have straight hair but I love that kind of old fashioned way to make buns when your hair is wavy Before it gets to the bun (like this http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2317314/Great-Gatsby-fever-Give-hair-Roaring-Twenties-twist-FEMAILs-online-tutorial.html ).
My grandmother wears her hair like that (but with a bun higher up) but she has a Little wavy hair already and she has so thin hair that she just let it dry in hair rolls, My hair takes ages to dry so I Think that would be impossible for me.

I don't want to use heat or other hair damaging ways so if thats really the only way for my thick hair I'll just leave it be. I have no experience of curling my hair the few times in my lifetime it have been curled others have done it on my hait, and used heat. (have have a few foam curling things that I have never tried maby I could use them?)

Ambystoma
March 3rd, 2014, 02:23 AM
If your hair is like mine and takes a million years to dry (8+ hours in the summer and up to 12 in winter :justy:) a great way to do heat free curls is to just spritz your dry hair with a little water from a spray bottle before bed - that way you can be sure they'll be dry in the morning :) I have foam rollers too and like them to get curl on the ends and mid lengths of my hair, but to get root lift like in that tutorial you'll need to use rigid rollers or do standing pincurls (which sounds like what your grandmother is doing) - there are lots and lots of tutorials on youtube and elsewhere, since vintage setting techniques are getting more and more popular these days, but I'd avoid wet setting (straight from a wash on towel dried hair) because if you have a long dry time and thick hair it might get pretty frustrating waiting for it to dry, and damp curls tend to frizz and drop.

tlover
March 3rd, 2014, 02:27 AM