PDA

View Full Version : Using a demi-pernament dye on previously bleached hair - damage?

divinedobbie
February 16th, 2014, 09:49 PM
I've been growing out my natural hair for two years (my anniversary is in three days actually :D). The ends of my hair nape down were bleached and redyed to my natural brown with a permanent dye. It has since faded very badly and is very orangey. Actually more very yellow (slightly green) now because I attempted to tone it with koolaid but that didn't work.

I bought a box of Clairol Natural Instincts Brass Free semi permanent dye (28 shampoos) a year ago to redye it but haven't found the courage because I fear more damage. I also recall one other time I dyed my hair with a semi-permanent and it washed out very quickly. I'm afraid I'll put my hair through the dye but it won't be worth it - but then again this time I won't be washing daily and definitely not with an SLS shampoo.

My hair is already very damaged on the ends so I kind of have the "it's not like it can get much worse anyway" mentality since I'll only be applying the dye to the ends. What do you guys think - to dye or not to dye? What if I saturated my hair in coconut oil first? How damaging is semi-permanent dye since it does still have peroxide?

Here is a pic of what I am talking about (this is before kool-aid so imagine it a bit more on the yellow/green side now):
http://i847.photobucket.com/albums/ab33/divinedobbie/784bc36b-3957-4ad3-9afd-96abfb8145ac_zpsb5509a7e.jpg (http://s847.photobucket.com/user/divinedobbie/media/784bc36b-3957-4ad3-9afd-96abfb8145ac_zpsb5509a7e.jpg.html)

cheetahfast
February 16th, 2014, 09:55 PM
I had a demi done on "bleached" ends and it took a long long time for it to lighten. I've never done it on my own.

If I were you I'd go for it. What is the point in growing out your hair if you are not happy with it :wink:.