PDA

View Full Version : I want to have less shed hairs.

FallingDarkness
February 13th, 2014, 05:49 PM
On average I lose about 40 hairs per day (I started counting) and I know that there's oils out there to help me with that but rumor has it that it darkens new growth? My hair is naturally blonde so idk how dark the new growth would be and if my hair color would be preserved. How do I lose less hair on a daily basis? Advice is much needed.

Madora
February 13th, 2014, 06:10 PM
40 hairs a day is nothing to be worried about. Average is 80 to 100.

If you're still worried, just be sure that you're combing carefully (always detangle gently from the bottom up to the scalp).

Also be sure you're eating healthy and wearing your hair up to protect the ends.

I have no experience with oil so cannot help you in that regard.

Anje
February 13th, 2014, 06:13 PM
Don't we all?

ETA: OK, that was profoundly unhelpful... In my experience, some wash methods will cause you to shred less than others. I shed less with WO, for example. But you need to balance this against how your hair does with the various methods (my ends dried out with WO). Honestly, 40 hairs/day is admirable. You might not be able to improve significantly on it.

Aderyn
February 13th, 2014, 06:14 PM
40 hairs is hardly anything to worry about, especially considering your thickness, so I'm a bit confused as to why you want to shed even less as that is on the low end of the spectrum as is. Honestly, I wouldn't even worry about it.

Just generally being kind to your scalp and being gentle when manipulating your hair will help. Wearing my hair up and using shampoo bars has tended to decrease my shedding, though only minimally.

Marbid
February 13th, 2014, 09:35 PM