PDA

View Full Version : Parandi for shorter hair?

bmcfarland
February 8th, 2014, 04:21 PM
Hello everyone :)

I just learned of the lovely paranda (parandi?), and was wondering if it is possible to incorporate one into shoulder length hair? They're so pretty, and I feel like I could maybe try to bun my hair if I could get one to work? (Or not, since I am not very good at making buns.) I have skimmed over the main paranda thread, but didn't see much regarding shorter hair.

Also, just as a side question, are parandas damaging at all? Do they become tangled in the hair? Maybe I am misunderstanding the construction of the paranda.

Anje
February 8th, 2014, 04:34 PM
I think you should be able to do it, if you can get a couple braid crosses, and it shouldn't be damaging at all, unless there's so much weight that it pulls. All a paranda is is a 3-section bundle of yarn that gets added to fatten a braid. They can actually be great for protecting hair in a braid.

walterSCAN
February 8th, 2014, 05:06 PM
I think what a lot of the shorter haired ladies were doing was french braiding the parandi in so that it would be a little better anchored before you run out of hair. It looks pretty cool when you do it that way, too. :) As long as you are careful to keep your hair and the parandi smooth as you braid, it should not tangle into your hair. (There is a little potential for that, with F hair like mine anyway, but things have to go pretty haywire for it to actually get tangled.) Like Anje's already said, parandis are, on balance, actually a pretty protective way to wear a braid, since your ends aren't exposed.

Good luck with it, and we want to see your parandi if/ when you get one in! (If you're making one, watch out-- they're addictive. I have 3 now, have given away 2, and have 4 others that are earmarked as gifts.)

bmcfarland
February 15th, 2014, 08:47 AM